Not happy with WhatsApp decision to share all your personal details with its parent company Facebook as well as other third-party apps? Not in a mood to accept new WhatsApp policy update? Well, you don’t have to worry. In case you do not wish to accept new WhatsApp policy update by May 15, the company will not go on to delete your account, however it will limit the functionality until new updates are accepted.
What Will Happen If You Don’t Accept New WhatsApp Policy?
In case you do not wish to accept the new WhatsApp policy update, WhatsApp will allow you to receive calls and notifications. The biggest drawback is that you will not be able to send messages via the app. The American messaging service has also come up with a list of changes a user could face if the new update is not accepted. It has created a new FAQ page titled What happens on the effective date.
A WhatsApp user who will not accept the bew WhatsApp Policy Update will only have two options available after May 15:
- Give in and accept the new privacy policies.
- Download WhatsApp chat history and sign into another messaging app, like Telegram or Signal.
It has also cautioned the users about accounts turning “inactive” if new policy update is not accepted. It has also mentioned that inactive accounts can be obliterated after 120 days.
You Might Also Like: New WhatsApp Logout Feature Update To Save The Messaging App
Why We Have A Problem With New WhatsApp Policy Update?
You Might Also Like: This New Feature Disables Facebook Tracking on iPhone
What do you think of the new WhatsApp policy update? Do you see any harm in WhatsApp using your messages to target ads on Facebook? Do let us know your views. You can also sign in for our newsletter to get daily technology updates delivered to your mailbox.