Social media apps have been a savior in the times of pandemic when we were all stuck at home. They gave us an opportunity to connect with long lost friend, served as a channel of motivation, and helped us sail through the tough times. Now, there is also no denying that we have become social media addicts, going on to Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and other apps for entertainment. We are constantly looking out for happiness, and getting demotivated seeing how perfect the ‘Reel’ life is. If you want to take a break from social media and wondering how to temporarily deactivate Instagram account, then we have got you covered. Follow these simple steps to temporarily disable Instagram account.

How To Temporarily Disable Instagram Account

When you temporarily disable your Instagram account, your profile, photos, likes, and comments will be hidden until you reactivate it by logging back in. But, if you plan to delete your personal Instagram account, then you will lose onto your data and will not be able to sign back using the same username. Also, you’d lose all and photos, videos, and followers. Here’ how to temporarily disable Instagram account:

By using a web browser

Temporarily Disable Instagram Account

You can’t temporarily disable your account from within the Instagram app. Follow these steps to temporarily disable Instagram account using web browser.

  • Log into instagram.com from your PC
  • Click your profile picture in the top right and click Profile, then click Edit Profile
  • Scroll down, then click ‘Temporarily disable my account’ in the bottom right
  • Select an option from the drop-down menu next to ‘Why are you disabling your account?’
  • At this step you will be asked to re-enter your password

Please note that the option to disable Instagram account will only appear once you have selected a reason from the menu and entered your password. Now click ‘Temporarily Disable Account’.

You Might Also Like: Snoop On Your Friends By Checking Their WhatsApp Status Without Them Knowing

If your reason for temporarily disabling Instagram account is privacy, then you can choose to make your account ‘Private’ or even ‘Block’ people from viewing your photos. If your account is set to private, only your approved followers will see your photos or videos on hashtag or location pages. Follow these steps to make your account private.

  • Tap on the profile Picture
  • Tap on the three bars on the top right
  • Now tap on ‘Settings’
  • Tap ‘Privacy’, then tap ‘Account Privacy’
  • Tap on ‘Private Account’ to make your account private

These are simple steps on how to temporarily disable an Instagram account. Stay tuned to this space for handy tricks and tips. Sign in for our newsletter to get daily updates delivered to your mailbox.