Are you looking for an answer to this question, “if I block someone in WhatsApp what happens?” There must be several queries bothering you since you decided to block somebody on this popular messaging app. Keep on reading to know what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp.
If I Block Someone in WhatsApp What Happens?
You Would Not Receive the Messages Sent by the Blocked Contact
When you block somebody, the messages that the person sends would not be delivered to you. In case you choose to unblock the contact, the messages sent during the blocked period would not be delivered to you either.
The Blocked Contact Would Not See Your Last Seen
The blocked contact would not be able to see your online information like your last seen even when you have not opted for the ‘hide the last seen’ feature in your privacy settings.
Your Profile Picture Will Remain Invisible
The blocked contact shall not be able to see your profile picture. No photo will be visible to them in place of your display picture.
Status Message Will Not be Visible
Your status message will also remain hidden or invisible to the blocked contact. The status would start to show to the person only when you have unblocked the contact.
They Cannot Call You
The blocked contact will be barred from calling you on the platform until you unblock. When they try to make a call, they will hear an outgoing call ring but you will not be notified about any incoming call.
Group Chats Will Remain Unaffected
Although the blocked contact will not be able to send you any text personally, the group chats that you both may be in shall remain unaffected. Both of you will still be able to exchange messages in the chat groups.
Read Receipt Will Not Show
The blocked contact will not get any blue tick or read receipts because neither the messages will be delivered to you nor you will be able to see them.
Whatever the Blocked Contact Will be Deprived of You Will be Too
When you block somebody, the person is barred from texting and calling you, sees your status, and display picture, last seen, and online status. Likewise, you will also be prevented from seeing any of the other person’s information or updates.
The Contact Will Still be on Your Phone
Blocking a contact does not mean deletion or removal of the same from WhatsApp or phonebook. It will still be there as long as you deliberately delete the number.
It is All in Your Hands
Everything will get back to normal as soon as you unblock the contact. You must have a valid reason for blocking somebody and unless you are pretty sure that the issue has been resolved, you might not choose to unblock the person.
Now that you know what happens when you block someone on WhatsApp, you can easily guess what would happen when somebody else blocks you. We hope to have been able to help you with your question, “if I block someone in WhatsApp what happens”. Let us know in the comments below what could irk you so much to take the initiative of blocking a contact.