2020 is nearly over!! Now, obviously the pandemic situation is not going to change overnight, but we all should be proud that we safely sailed 2020, probably the weirdest year of our lives, and that’s surely a reason to celebrate!

We are sure most of you are staying away from celebrating New Year’s Eve at clubs, bars, resorts, etc., you can still enjoy New Year’s Eve by bringing the festivities online. Looking for virtual New Year’s Eve ideas? Stay home and ring in 2021 at one of these huge online club nights and parties – all from the comfort of your home. Here are some of the best online New Year’s Eve events to see – and ring in a hopefully much less chaotic 2021.

Best Online New Year Eve Events

The Times Square Ball Drop

The major event of New York, the Times Square Ball Drop will feel not see you in flesh this year. But, if you want to say farewell to 2020 in a good way, you can live-stream a series of live performances from the square for free from early evening. The New Year 2020 event will be hosted by Jonathan Bennett, starting with the lighting and raising of the hallowed ball. At midnight, Gloria Gaynor will play ‘I Will Survive’ alongside a crowd of essential workers and their families!

Timings: 6pm EDT onwards (11pm GMT, 10pm AEDT)

NYE Live With Justin Bieber

To ring in the new year, Justin Bieber is holding a virtual concert, inviting Beliebers ‘All Around The World’! In partnership with T-Mobile, the New Year’s Eve event will be Bieber’s first show in three years, following his cancelled 2017 Purpose World Tour. The event will also have two reshowings foe fans who would want to indulge in Bieber love over and over again.

Timings: 31 December, 7:15PM (PST) or 10:15PM (EST) 

new year celebration

Mediacorp: Let’s Celebrate 2021

This year’s edition of the yearly countdown will see highly-anticipated music performances and firework displays, but with an added interactive and international twist! In addition to homegrown acts Gareth Fernandez, Hashy YusofJJ Neo,  ShiGGa Shay, RRILEY, Shabir, Shye, Tabitha Nauser, and Yung Raja; all the attendees will also geta  chance to watch the first-ever performance of ‘Better’, with the virtual stage graced by the likes of Benee, Jason Derulo, Jeremy Zucker, Ronan Keating, and Tones and I. 

You can watch it meWATCHMediacorp Entertainment on YouTube, or Channel 5

Timings: 31 December, 9:30PM (TH/ID Standard Time) or 10:30PM (PH/SG/MY Standard Time)

Dua Lipa live on YouTube

This year YouTube is hosting its own ‘hello 2021’ show with different star-studded line-ups across the UK, Americas, Korea, Japan and India. Dua Lipa will play the UK, India and Americas streams. American viewers will also be able to enjoy performances from J Balvin, YG and Kane Brown, plus ‘contributions’ from RuPaul and Matthew McConaughey.

Viewers from London can watch performances from Aitch & AJ Tracey, Anne-Marie and MNEK, as well as sketches from Michaela Coel and Katherine Ryan.

Timings: US stream from 10.30pm EDT 

  UK stream from 10.30pm GMT

Haçienda NYE 24 Hour Houseparty

Manchester’s Haçienda has already started livestreaming big party vibes. The 24-hour stay-at-home rave will feature a lineup of international DJs, Haçienda regulars and some special one-off live performances. The Houseparty will be streamed on United We Stream for free. But, it is requested from the viewers to   make donations to the oneGM campaign, which supports people in Greater Manchester who have been hardest hit during the pandemic.

Timings: 10am GMT onwards (5.00am EDT, 9.00pm AEDT)

New year crackers

Mr Scruff and DJ Yoda at Rave to the Moon

This New Year’s Eve ‘rave from home’ will witness DJ Yoda, Mr Scruff, Beardyman and many international artists, playing from venues around the world – including London’s Royal Albert Hall. The event is free to watch on Mixcloud Live, but all viewers are encouraged to donate a fee charity of their choice, or even set up a JustGiving fundraiser for others to donate to.

 Timings: 8pm-1am GMT (3pm-8pm EDT, 7am-12pm AEDT)

A Virtual Festival from BTS and friends

The famous Korean boyband BTS had to call off their world tour in April owing to the pandemic and haven’t played live since. Now, this New Year’s Eve they’re back, with the band’s management company, Big Hit, putting on a huge show just outside Seoul headlined by BTS and featuring other K-pop artists like NU’EST, GFriend and ENHYPEN. Incredibly, there will be IRL, socially distanced crowd, and fans around the world. All those who are planning to celebrate New Year’s Eve at home can tune in via Weverse. Lauv, Halsey, and Steve Aoki will also be performing.

Timings: 9.30pm KST (12.30pm GMT, 7.30am EDT, 11.30pm AEDT)

David Guetta and Major Lazer at Tomorrowland

Belgian mega-festival Tomorrowland is hosting an online bash this New Year’s Eve, featuring performances by 25 or so high-profile EDM, house and trap DJs across four digital ‘stages’ on its website. David Guetta, Major Lazer, Martin Garrix, Armin van Buuren and DJ Snoopadelic (Snoop Dogg’s new electronic project) are among the biggest artists gracing the online New Year’s Eve celebration.

Timings: 8pm-3am in all time zones

Let’s embrace 2021 with respect and love. Stay home, stay safe. Enjoy your favourite meal with family and thank god for keeping everyone safe and healthy.

Happy New Year to all of our readers!!

1 COMMENT

Comments are closed.