Facebook launched Vanish Mode on Messenger and Instagram. The new ‘Vanish Mode’ will let you send messages that disappear automatically when the recipient has seen them or when they leave the chat. Currently, the feature is available on Messenger in the US and a few other countries, it is being reported that it will soon be available on Instagram to let users send spontaneous messages that disappear automatically after the recipient has seen it.
Facebook explains that users can take advantage of this feature to “send memes, GIFs, stickers or reactions to share what you really think when you can’t find the words, or just be silly with your friends without it staying in your chat history.” The social media app further explicates that vanish mode is designed with safety in mind, and users get the choice to turn it on or off.
Vanish mode only works with people who you are connected with – for instance, Facebook friends – and is activated for everyone in the chat. Also, if the person you have sent the message takes a screenshot, you will automatically get a notification for the same.
In a statement released, the company said that, “Sometimes a message is just spontaneous — something one wants to say at the moment without worrying about it sticking around.” Like the regular chat, users can send memes, GIFs, stickers, or reactions e even in the ‘Vanish Mode’, the only difference being that it wouldn’t stay in the chat history.”
How it works
To make full use of the Vanish mode, all you have to do is swipe up on your mobile device within an existing chat. Swiping up again takes you back to the normal mode in the chat. The first time you turn on the feature, you will get an information screen that explains it and how to stay safe when using it.
Keeping security at priority, Facebook said that the mode will be only available for chats that are connected to you. Also, it allows users to decide they’d like to enter into a Vanish mode chat or not. Also, as mentioned earlier, the mode sends a notification in case someone takes a screenshot of a goofy message or meme shared by you and allows you to block or report someone if you feel unsafe.
The feature is being deployed slowly and will soon be available for mass use. Stay tuned to this page for latest updates.