Like any other digital messaging app in the current times, WhatsApp also users to block certain contacts (they no longer wish to talk to). The feature does come handy especially in case of stalkers, spams or unwanted online attention. But, what happens when you find yourself at the receiving end of the same; when you are blocked on WhatsApp.
Notably, in the current age of digital dating, blocking (and later unblocking) contacts even in case of minor fights/arguments have become a common place. Unsurprisingly, in order to ensure the other person’s privacy, WhatsApp does not send any notification when you get blocked on WhatsApp. However, in case you have a doubt, there are following ways you can adopt to check the same.
How To Know If Someone Has Blocked You On WhatsApp?
When you are unceremoniously blocked on WhatsApp, your messages not being delivered is the first red flag that you are most likely to notice. If you have a doubt, you may want to try sending in a text because if the app tells you that the message is delivered that will mean that he/she has not blocked you. But, if the message continues to have only a single tick even after many hours, it might be an indication — though not an assured indicator — that the other person has blocked you.
Another way to check whether or not you are blocked on WhatsApp is to see their online status or “Last Seen” in the chatroom. If you cannot see their last seen, it might be an indicator that they have blocked you or it might also be just that they have recently changed it in their settings. So, it does remain a slightly unreliable parameter for the same.
Furthermore, if you have noticed that you cannot see updates to a particular contact’s display picture, it is an indication that they have either not changed their profile picture for some time or have blocked you. However, a good parameter to verify would be to check it on one of your common friend’s WhatsApp before coming to a conclusion.
However, you are still unsure, just try calling them via your WhatsApp. The instant messaging app does not allow blocked users to make call to that particular contact. However, it can also be a result of their mobile data being turned off or them enjoying a simple digital detox.
While all the aforementioned methods can betray you in confirming whether or not have they blocked you on WhatsApp; this one has always worked without fail in our experience so far. Last but not the least, this one is a sure shot way to verify if you are blocked on WhatsApp. Just create a new group and try adding them to the same. In case, they have blocked you, WhatsApp will show a text box suggesting that, “you are not authorized to add this contact.” And if it does show up, you are indeed blocked on WhatsApp.